Getting Ready To Go Out When You Don’t Really Feel Like It.

So me and some other lovely bloggers have decided to do a little bit of a collab. Since friday there has been a blog post every day going up on someone’s blog all to do with beauty, from what to take when you travel to beauty set-ups, it’s all happening. These girls are lovely so be sure to check them all out and give them all a follow:
https://ferniex.wordpress.com/
https://missamymaria.wordpress.com/
http://www.wonderlandwarblings.com/

Now, don’t get me wrong, I do like to get all jazzed up if I know I’m going somewhere special or out for the day but there are times when I simply can not be bothered. A few weeks ago (after an 11-day stint in hospital I might add), my dad phoned me up to tell me we were going out for dinner. You don’t understand the excitement I felt at the prospect of going out somewhere, I guess being cooped up in the same room for nearly two weeks straight will do that to you. But I was tired and my body was having a particularly achey day so I really wasn’t in the mood to spend ages getting ready and making myself look all prim and proper. So I decided to show you how I get ready when I really don’t have the energy!

Processed with VSCO with  presetProcessed with VSCO with  presetProcessed with VSCO with  preset

Skincare is something that I know I should be better at, but let’s be real, who has time to do a double cleanse when their bed is calling? Not me! But I must say that I have got better the last few months, the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish is an absolute god-send. Anywho, because I knew I wasn’t going to be spending loads of time on my skin I decided to just used a Simple Cleansing Facial Wipe to get rid of any grime or dirt that had built up over the course of the day. I don’t claim to know a lot, but I know that make up goes on best on a clean, fresh face. Then I used the Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic Spritzer (try saying that ten times fast!), and I just love this. I was first introduced to this tonic in a bottle and you had to pour some onto a cotton pad to use, but I must prefer this spritzer. Yes, I’m lazy, but I also find that it makes me feel so much more refreshed after a few sprays. Also can we just appreciate how good all of the Liz Earle products smell?! I tend to use this before my moisturizer and because its loaded up with aloe vera and cucumber it really helps calm any redness of my skin, of which there’s a lot. (Especially my cheeks, anyone else have this problem?)

Next I go in with a moisturiser. My skin is super-duper dry and I have been searching high and low for a moisturiser that stops the dryness but isn’t super duper thick. And this is as close to a winner I’ve got. The Clinique Pep-Start Hydrorush Moisturizer isn’t too thick and sinks into the skin wonderfully. I wouldn’t call this a heavy-duty moisturizer because at the end of a long day I find that I start to see dry patches on my forehead and around my nose, but the only thing I’ve found so far that doesn’t is E45 Cream (seriously, this is my go to moisturizer always!), but because we were just going out for the evening I knew it would do the trick. It also contains SPF 20 and we all know how important that is and considering I only have to look at the sun to become a tomato, every little helps!

Left-On and On Bronze, Right-Tortola

Fortunately, for some strange unknown reason that I won’t question, my skin has been breakout free for the last few months so I decided to skip putting a base on. However, normally I’d reach for the Bourjois 123 Perfect Colour Correcting Cream. It has a light coverage and I find it so quick and easy to blend out. Because of the addition of the green, apricot and white pigments in the formula, it evens out the skin tone perfectly, dark circles and redness be gone! Like I say, my skin was doing okay and honestly if there’s a step I can skip, I’m going to skip it! On days like this when I was feeling tired but wanted to at least look like I had made an effort, I typically just focus on the eyes and lips. I find they’re the quickest and easiest things to do, and I can be out the door in minutes. For my eyes, if I’m in a rush or don’t have the energy to sit and blend a thousand colours to get the perfect shade, I always reach for the Maybelline Color Tatoo in the shade On and On Bronze. I find these eyeshadows are so easy to just pat on and blend out for a nice subtle colour, plus they are super long-lasting without an eye primer (yay for another step we can skip) and they don’t crease. This particular shade is my favourite because it gives a really nice bronze sheen, however a word of caution, because of the staying power of these once its on there, it’s on there so you have to move in quick with the blending.

I always curl my lashes because mine are very straight and I’ve yet to find a mascara that gives me a curl that lasts. Recently I’ve been reaching for this little Estee Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Mascara, I’m not particularly fussy with mascaras, but I like this one because it’s not clumpy and it’s travel size, which is a win win for me. Lastly, lips. This product is probably the holy grail for me, I find myself reaching for it again and again, that at this point it may as well just be a permanent fixture on my face. The Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Tortola, I love everything about it. The formula, the colour, the packaging, even the smell. If there was one product I had to choose to stay with me for the rest of my life, this would be it. Despite being matte, it isn’t drying on the lips and the staying power is amazing, which is great because it means I don’t have to worry about getting up to reapply. (Honestly, it lasted 2 courses and a fair few vodka lemonades before I needed a touch up!) It literally glides on like butter and with one swipe you’re done.

My hair is going through a pretty funky stage at the moment. Because of some medication I was taking, as well as an iron deficiency, my hair likes to go through phases of falling out. So my hair is nowhere as thick or long as it was last year, it kills me to look at holiday photos from last year because I yearn for that hair back. Anywho, it’s getting to the stage where it is starting to thicken up but it just needs a bit of help. I really like this Batiste Texturing Spray because it helps give my hair a bit of texture, obviously, and helps it not look as flat and lifeless as it normally is. The other thing I love is it doesn’t leave behind that tacky feel in your hair, so it literally doesn’t feel like you’ve used any product. I would issue a word of warning though, the spray comes out with a bit of a vengeance, so definitely be carefulΒ with that, you get a lot of product in just one spray. Finally I add a touch of perfume, my favourite right now is Si by Giorgio Armani which I got from my dad and step-mum for christmas and I adore it so much, the bottles nearly empty.

So there you have it, my quick and easy routine for getting ready when you really don’t want to. Getting ready to go out still makes me feel good and I enjoy doing it but sometimes the energy and effort it takes puts me off, but I find keeping the steps to a minimum helps and all in all it took me only 10 minutes which is a god send when you can’t stand in front of the mirror for ages. If you’ve got any tips for getting ready when you can’t be bothered let me know down below!

Don’t forget this is part of a collab with some fantastic ladies so be sure to go and check out all their other post’s and give them a follow to keep up to date with the rest of their fantastic content, I’ve linked their Twitter and post’s below.
FernMake Up, Set Up
AmyThe Make Up Travel Pack
Ashleigh

 

One thought on “Getting Ready To Go Out When You Don’t Really Feel Like It.

Leave a Reply

