Rewatching Favourite Movies From My Teens.

So at this point, I’m pretty sure that daytime TV is going to kill me. Luckily, the other day I stumbled across Step Up and thought ‘why not’? So armed with a cup of tea and a box of chocolates, I was ready to get all nostalgic and I wasn’t disappointed! I was taken back to the days where I would watch it on repeat in the hopes that I would learn the routines, which were never successful by the way. So I’ve had a bit of a crappy month and I decided that it would be a great idea to rewatch some of my favourite films from when I was a teen.

Step Up

Obviously! This just reminded me of all the times I spent in the living room attempting to do the dances, and failing. It has some really amazing dance routines, a love story that isn’t shoved in your face, and Channing Tatum, what more could you want?! I remember watching the second one and definitely not enjoying it as much as this one and I’ve never watched the others. Step Up is a classic that makes even the worst dancers (me) feel like they can throw down some awesome moves.

Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging

I think I watched this film to absolute death. It’s the ultimate teenage chick flick filled with boys, drama and obviously perfect snogging! (Does anyone even say snogging these days!?) There is a little bit of all of us in Georgia, whether we relate to her embarrassing parents, worrying about boys, whether your best friend is being a bit ‘slaggy’, or maybe just questioning if shaving your eyebrows is the best idea (spoiler – never a good idea). As a teenager, I understood her and watching this made me worry a little less about the drama in my own life. Now, it makes me cringe, but in a good way. (Is there such a thing?) It brought back memories that I had forgotten about and made me appreciate how the really small things can seem colossal when you’re that age, but that’s okay, because it’s all a part of finding yourself and growing up.

A Cinderella Story

I wont lie, I still watch this every time I see it’s on ITV2, because how could you not. It’s funny, heartwarming and gives us hope that there is a prince charming out there for everyone. There’s also Chad Michael Murray too. A modern retelling of Cinderella, complete with evil stepmother and sisters, this is the perfect film to curl up with while eating your body weight in ice cream when you need convincing that there is truly a prince charming waiting for you somewhere. Most importantly, it’s about believing in yourself and staying true to who you are, a lesson that is so so important to try and learn when you are young.

13 Going On 30

I think this film is every girls fantasy when she’s a young teen. You just want to grow up. You just want to be an ‘adult’ (whatever that means). While this film, even now, is hilarious, it still makes me realise that maybe I need to cherish the little moments a bit more. Having a girls night in with snacks and face masks or just allowing yourself to be creative and not worried about what others will think, sometimes when you’re busy being an ‘adult’ you can forget about the things that you love and what makes you truly you. Also Mark Ruffalo, yes please.

She’s The Man

This is just a good old fashioned rom-com that I can watch over and over. It still makes me chuckle, and despite not seeing it for a good few years, I can still recite almost every word. And yes, I’m well aware this is another film with Channing Tatum in, clearly I have a thing. This is another film that’s all about going for what you want and not letting anyone stand in your way. I think that as you get older, you lose your ability to just throw caution to the wind and just do what makes you truly happy and doing anything and everything you can to get there, even if you have to pretend to be a guy.

 

Featured Image

2 thoughts on “Rewatching Favourite Movies From My Teens.

  1. Steph says:

    WHAT A THROWBACK (and quite aptly on a Thursday).
    I’ve watched several of these movies more than once.

    Another movie that I love (and secretly still watch to this day) is ‘Starstruck. It never made it big, but I love it!

    It’s an oldie but a goodie!

    Lovely post!

    Steph
    http://www.socialspying.com

    Like

    • Taylor says:

      Ha, I didn’t even realise! It was great to go back and rewatch them and find they were still firm favourites! Yes -Starstruck was one I always enjoyed too!

      Taylor x

      Like

Leave a Reply

