Pizza Express – Harlow.

On a recent last minute mid-week shopping trip to try and find an outfit for an upcoming event (which was unsuccessful), we decided to stop for lunch to fuel up. Now – I haven’t been to Harlow since Christmas time and it still amazes me with how few places there are to eat, especially with the added hurdle of finding somewhere gluten-free. However, after a lot of ‘um-ing’ and ‘ah-ing’, we decided that we should just give Pizza Express a go because I’d heard that they had some GF options.

This is probably one of the smallest branches of Pizza Express that I’ve ever been to but it was perfect for an early afternoon stop, it wasn’t busy and we were seated at a lovely booth at the back. I can imagine that on a busy Saturday night that it is a little cramped. When I asked for a GF menu, the waitress happily handed me the normal menu and told me that I could have anything marked with a GF symbol or if I wanted, any pizza on a gluten-free base. I was so surprised that I could have any pizza on their menu! Admittedly, there weren’t many other GF options, but then why would you need them when you’re able to get pizza!

When I saw the GF dough balls, I did an internal squeal. I’ve had my fair share of dough balls, but these take the trophy for best GF ones. They’re ever so slightly sweet which I loved, I would have happily just sat and eaten a huge plate of them, five is definitely not enough for me!

Honestly, I scoured the menu for ages trying to decide which pizza I wanted. Having such a big selection left me wanting to try everything! I finally decided on the Margherita Bufala, which consisted of buffalo mozzarella, tomato, fresh basil, fresh tomato, garlic oil and oregano. Let me tell you, I haven’t had a pizza this good in quite some time. I was worried about the base because I’ve not had a great experience with GF pizza bases, but there was no need. It was perfect – not doughy and not too crispy, just the way I like it! It was so fresh and delicious, I could have quite easily eaten a whole other one. If there was one thing I would change, I’d have more oregano, but that’s just because I’m a oregano fiend!

Gluten-free or not, if you’re in the mood for great tasting pizza, then definitely check out Pizza Express, they’ve definitely upped their game since I last visited. I honestly raved about my pizza for the rest of the day – so don’t be surprised if you see me back there in a few weeks.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Express – Harlow.

Leave a Reply

