SourcedBox – Feburary 2017.

I’ve been a fan of SourcedBox’s for a long time but I have to say that this month was definitely not the best. While there were definitely some things that I really enjoyed, there just seemed to be more things that I didn’t. I used to be so impressed with everything that I got in these boxes, and although I feel like we get more in the boxes now than we did at the start, I just don’t think they’re as nice. But I’m going to persevere and hope that next months is better.

The first thing from this box that I tried were the Inspiral Salted Caramel Coconut Pecks. Now I’m not a big fan of coconut, so whenever I get something with coconut in or coconut flavoured I’m always a little bit dubious. These are incredibly sweet and my first thought was ‘thank god all I can taste is salted caramel’ because they have a really good salted caramel flavour to them but after a few second all I could taste was coconut. For someone who doesn’t mind coconut or overly sweet things I can imagine these would be an ideal snack but I don’t think they’re for me. My first thought when I opened the bag of Yushoi Lightly Salted Snapea Rice Sticks was that they looked quite similar to the ready salted Chipsticks, a packet of crisps I miss since they aren’t gluten free, and they almost taste the same too. Every now and again I got a very subtle pea taste but if I didn’t think about it too much, they were actually very enjoyable. I’m hoping some of their other flavours are gluten free so I can try those too!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My favourite items in a SourcedBox are the snack bars. I’m always on the hunt for new ones because they are so easy to just chuck in my bag for when I’m out and about. I was quite intrigued by the 100% Natural Organic Raw Chocolate Brownie with Himalayan Rose Salt, mostly because of the word ‘brownie’. I am a complete sucker for a good brownie and I wont lie, this took me completely surprised! It definitely had some sort of brownie quality about it and I would happily buy more of these to chuck in my bag. About halfway through I did start to find it a little bit too rich but that just meant that I could save half for later which is no bad thing!! I was really surprised by the LoveRaw Almond and Coconut Organic bar and the reason I really enjoyed this was definitely down the cinnamon powder. Without the cinnamon I don’t think I would have enjoyed this quite so much because of the coconut but I could honestly barely taste it. I also loved how soft this was because I often find with snack bars like this are a bit too dense for my liking but this was absolutely lush! My favourite item was probably the Conscious Organic Raw with Wild Cranberries, I’m usually not a lover of dark chocolate but the cranberries make it much more enjoyable. I can’t wait to get some of the other flavours so I can try them.

When I tried the NoNo Superfood Truffles, I found that the beetroot was just too strong and I really can’t stand the taste of it. If the Raspberry had been a bit stronger it may have been a different story. Also I bit into it expecting it to be much softer than it actually was, I’m not a fan of hard chocolate on the best of days, so biting into a hard truffle was not enjoyable. I unfortunately couldn’t try the Wyldsson Elite Nutrition Mango Mix but my mum said that it was nice and made a really good snack when she was on the go. I was really surprised by the Beloved Zesty Orange Date Fruit Hearts because I don’t particularly like the taste of dates, but the orange in these make them taste super nice! They are a little bit denser than I would expect but that doesn’t make them any less tasty. There were two drinks in the box this month but one of them I left in my mums fridge where I’d put it to chill. But I did however get to try The London Tea Company Raspberry Inferno and it was really good. I’m a big fan of herbal teas in general but sometimes fruit teas can be a little bit hit or miss but this was really good. I’m definitely going to be trying some off the other ones.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

