What I’m Reading – February.

I have a love-hate relationship with reading now. Growing up I always had my head in a book. You’d be hard pressed to get me to have an actual conversation with you because I just enjoyed being stuck in a book too much. This hasn’t actually changed, the thought of sitting down with a huge mug of tea and a good book fills me with so much happiness, I’ve just yet to do it. The reason for this, I think, is university. I find very few people who actually enjoy doing the recommended reading for their course. No matter how much you enjoy reading, having to read something you aren’t allowed to pick or something you don’t really enjoy can be a real drag. But I’m determined for that to change this year, and I’m going to try and rediscover my love for reading again! Let me know if you have any good book recommendations that you think would help me get back into reading!

Room – Emma Donoghue

I actually started reading this book a few summers ago and made it about halfway through before work got too hectic so I put it down and never picked it up again. But I really enjoyed what I did read and I’ve been putting off seeing the film until I’ve finished the book so I’d say it’s about damn time I picked it back up again. Although I’m definitely going to have to start from the beginning because I have a habit of not marking my place in books…

When We Collided – Emery Lord

I borrowed this book from a good friend of mine way before Christmas and I just haven’t got around to it yet. Considering all the really great things I’ve heard about it I need to stop putting it off and just read it already!!

Lumberjanes

Over the last year I’ve really got into graphic novels and Lumberjanes was one of the first ones I picked up thanks to a really lovely Waterstones assistant. The problem I seem to have is that I’ll pick up the first one in a series and then forget to buy any of the other ones because I’ll find a new series to give a go. However this is a series I always try and pick up when I see it. This is the third one and I cannot wait to start reading and find out what sort of a pickle the Lumberjanes have got themselves into now.

You Deserve a Drink – Mamrie Hart
American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis

I have been watching Mamrie Hart since god knows when and this has been on my list of books to read for months, and I was lucky enough to get given this at Christmas. This means I now have no reason not to read this now! American Psycho was a present to myself and I won’t lie the thing that drew me to it was the cover. I love the simplicity of it and I can’t wait to really pick it up and get stuck in.

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading – February.

      • lisa anniesette says:

        Wellll..I didn’t really like any aspect of it.

        It just read like a long list of senseless violence, and I wasn’t impressed with the language or how it’s written, so yea..At the same time..what did I think it was going to be??

        I honestly regret reading it, because some of the less pleasant scenes still haunt me.

        But I don’t want to discourage you! First of all, I read it more than 10 years ago so it’s possible I’d read it differently today, and at the end of the day, it all comes down to taste. I should have know it wasn’t my cup of tea. You might like it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

