January Favourites.

.I always love January. I love the feeling of a fresh start and there’s nothing like a new year to get you motivated. I don’t tend to do the whole ‘new year, new me’ situation, but I do think it’s a great time to get motivated to make changes in your life that will make it better. So last month I tried to get back into yoga and really enjoy it after falling slightly out of love with it at the end of last year. I also made the decision to try and really get organised after spending the end of last year not really knowing if I was coming of going. I can successfully say that I have managed to do both of those things and I feel so much better because of it. What were you favourite things about last month? Let me know in the comments down below or tell me how you used the start of new year to motivate you!

Blogosphere Magazine – Issue 11

This is something I’ve been meaning to pick up since it launched but I’m a terrible person who just kept putting it off. I was lucky to get given some money over Christmas so I finally went ahead and ordered it. Now, as much as I do adore Zoe, I’m very sad that I missed Victoria from InTheFrow’s issue. I’m gutted that I didn’t do this earlier because this is a fantastic magazine that celebrates everyone in the blogging community! If you haven’t already, you can buy a years membership for just £25 here.

Bread Street Kitchen Cookbook

I have every single one of Gordon Ramsay’s cookbooks so you can imagine my excitement when he announced his new one in collaboration with his restaurant Bread Street Kitchen. I treated myself to it as a late Christmas present when I saw that it was offer on Amazon and I love it. The photography in it is stunning and I simply can’t wait to try out some of the recipes!

The Little Book of Hygge – Meik Wiking

I had heard lots of people throw the word ‘hygge’ around at the end of last year and as far as I could tell it was just about candles and fluffy socks. And it is, but it’s also about so much more. Hygge is all about appreciating the small things in life that make you feel happier and more content. For me, that’s sitting with my friends, drinking tea and watching crappy tv. I must admit, I do light candles and wear fluffy socks which make it so much more cosy. This book is fantastic because it really explains in depth what hygge actually is and consists of, and explains where it comes from and why its so popular. I love the little graphics they have throughout and the fact that it includes recipes for you to try.

Colgate Proclinical 250+ Electric Toothbrush

I think the fact that I’m excited about a toothbrush shows, not only do I lead a sad little life but also that I am actually becoming an adult. I’ve needed to buy a new electric toothbrush for a while but I don’t really like the ones with circular heads, I much prefer them with rectangle ones. I looked everywhere after christmas hoping to find one in the sale but I had no luck. But during a last minute stop at Sainsbury’s before the trip back to uni I spotted this beauty. I love the fact that its slim and small as opposed to the heavy, bulky thing I had before. I’ve linked it here just in case anyone else gets excited by the prospect of a new toothbrush and wants to give it a look.

Si Eau De Toilette – Giorgio Armani

Okay, disclaimer time – I am absolutely terrible at describing scents! Especially perfumes, I just don’t take a lot of time to really notice them. Honestly, I just decide whether I like it or not and that’s that. But every christmas my step-mum likes to buy me a new fragrance to try and she’s yet to put a foot wrong. I have never had such a perfume that I would describe as being this high end. And I adore it! It’s quite subtle which I love because I am not a huge fan of perfumes that are too bold or over the top. There’s a slight hint of fruitiness to it, which isn’t something I normally go for because I tend to prefer things that, I suppose, are classed as a bit more of a musk. Plus I absolutely adore the packaging!! Like I say, I’m terrible at describing scents so I thought I’d just tell you what it says on their website!
Top Notes: Blackcurrant Sorbet, Mandarin & Pear
Heart Notes: Rose De Mai Essence & Freesia
Base Notes: Musk, Vanilla & Patchouli

The Body Shop Frosted Berries Lip Balm

I’m a big fan of The Body Shop lip balms, and I’m also a big fan of their christmas range. This was given to me by one of my good friends when I was having a rough day which just makes it even more special. First off, I love the smell. It’s quite sweet but not sickly, I wish I’d got some more bits from this range. It also gives the lips a slight red tint which is lovely because I tend to have quite pale lips so it’s lovely to have something that isn’t at all sticky but very soft on the lips that adds a hint of colour.

La La Land

I absolutely adore musicals! Can’t get enough of them, I’d happily watch them everyday. Now this movie has either been loved or hated by people but I thought it was amazing! Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are a match made in heaven and everything they touch turns to gold so as a duo they are fantastic. The music is phenomenal and I’ve been listening to the soundtrack on repeat since I saw the film at the beginning of the month. It honestly was everything I wanted it to be and then some! Please please don’t judge this by what everyone else has been saying, if it interests you at all go and see it, I’m sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised!!

UniSlam 2017

15936739_1851681998408164_8519237449467066504_o

So for those of you who don’t know, UniSlam is an event where teams from universities all over the country come and perform in a spoken word poetry slam. Spoken word is something that I really enjoy watching as well as performing. I entered with my university team last year as well as this year. It was a shame that we didn’t manage to progress pass the prelim round but it was an absolutely fantastic day that was full of some phenomenal poetry!!

Leave a Reply

