Christmas Films To Get You In The Christmas Mood.

In case you didn’t already know, I absolutely adore Christmas. As in start planning in September and decorations up mid-November adore Christmas. Christmas is a very special time in our household and is easily my favourite part of the year. One of the thing I love about Christmas is the films. There’s always an abundance on TV and, for me, when you spend a sunday night scrolling through the TV guide and see nothing but films, that’s when you know Christmas is on its way. So I thought I’d give you all a little run down of my favourite films, because I love reading posts like these.

The Grinch

Quite possibly my favourite Christmas film of all time! Honest, I can follow it word for word and end up chuckling every single time I watch it. I won’t lie, I watched it at the beginning of September this year because I just couldn’t wait. I think this film is a bit like marmite for people, but if you haven’t watched it, please do this year. You’ll find yourself singing along to the songs for weeks after.

The Polar Express

 

This is another film I watched during September, because I wanted to watch a Christmas film but the family didn’t want something that was ‘overly Christmas’. This was the clear winner. I really enjoy the animation and the music, I mean there’s a song about hot chocolate and if that doesn’t entice you, I don’t know what will. The core message of this film is all about believing in the spirit of christmas, no matter how old you are.

Holiday Inn

I’m a huge fan of most things Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire are in. This is just another lovely film with an amazing soundtrack that I think often gets forgotten about because of how old it is, but it is on my to-watch list every year. If you’re a fan of old films, fantastic soundtracks or just an easy watch, this is definitely the way forward.

The Nightmare BeforeΒ Christmas

Yes, this is most definitely a christmas film. If you’ve never seen this film, (who are you and where have you been living?) I’d recommend watching it just for the animation alone. It’s fantastic! The music is obviously amazing and the story is heart warming. If you want a film that isn’t as conventional as some of the others on this list, this is 100% top choice.

Elf

Everyone knows this film, and most of those people, I imagine like me, have a love-hate relationship with it. I find it’s been far too overplayed now, so I do get to the stage where I just get sick of it. That being said, it does make me chuckle the first few times and it’s another film that, if you can get past the annoying parts, has a very lovely message to it.

The Holiday

This is by far my favourite Christmas rom-com. I feel like most people either like this or Love Actually. For me The Holiday wins every time. I love the whole cast, I love the idea of it and the story is just so simple and sweet. It’s definitely a film that makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside when you watch it.

Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmas

This is quite a special film to me. I watch it every Christmas Eve without fail, it’s very much a tradition in our home. I’m a huge fan of disney and each little story has such a lovely message. The last few years we haven’t sat down as a family to watch it like we have in previous years, my mum’s usually too busy with last minute Christmas wrapping and my brothers at the age where he doesn’t really care about it. But I think this is a little tradition I’ll carry on for many years and will probably do with my own children.

So there you have it! I’ll be watching each of these films at least 10 times before Christmas Eve and I really recommend you do too. Let me know down below if you’ve seen any of these or tell me you’re favourite Christmas Films that you think I should watch.

 

Leave a Reply

