Favourite Musical Films – Blogvember 2016.

A few weeks ago I did a post on my favourite musical soundtracks and I enjoyed writing it so much that I thought I’d write up a post on my favourite musical films. There’s a mixture of films in this list and I love them all! There is honestly something for everyone on this list and I hope if you haven’t seen them before that you give them a go.

Rent

This featured on my last musicals post and it’s an oldie but a goodie! It tells the story of seven friends in New York and their struggles in life, from things like not being about to pay their rent, to much more serious issues like having to live with AID’s. The films shows a year in the life of these friends, including the highs and lows. It’s so touching and made me cry the first time I watched it. This movie also features some famous faces you might recognise, including Jesse L Martin, Β Idina Menzel and Anthony Rapp. If you need to watch something touching or something that will really make you take stock of all the good in your life, this is definitely the one for you.

Les Miserables 25th Anniversary

Okay, I’m going to be frank with you, I’m still yet to watch the newest film adaptation. I know I know, I’m very much behind the time. But I just adore this musical so much that I was worried the film might ruin that for me. I’ve made a promise to myself to try and watch it before the end of the year. Anyway, I’ve seen this on stage and absolutely loved it and when I heard that the 25th Anniversary performance was going to be released on DVD, I just needed it in my life. With stars like Matt Lucas, Nick Jonas and Lea Salonga, it was always going to be a hit.

The Last 5 years

Now, this stars Jeremy Jordan, a man who I adore so I knew that I was going to love this but I just didn’t realise quite how much. It also features Anna Kendrick as the only other character in this film. The story follows a couple whose relationship comes to an end, but it’s told almost entirely in song. We also get told the story from two different points; from Kathy’s point of view the story is told in reverse but from Jamie’s we see it progress from the start. They take it turn singing songs, jumping backwards and forwards in time until eventually the relationship ends. The music throughout is amazing, the acting is great and I love the way the story is told.

IntoΒ the woods

This is another film made up almost entirely of songs. This is packing to the brim with big names; Anna Kendrick, James Corden, Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp just to name a few. We follow five different story that all interlink, four of which are based on the Grimm Brothers fairytales; Rapunzel, Cinderella, Red Riding Hood and Jack and the Beanstalk. We follow the Baker and his wife go on a quest for the Witch, so that they may have a child. Like I say, there’s barely any talking in this film, but I still love it. The scenery is stunning and there was many a moment where I found myself chuckling.

Rocky Horror Show

Another oldie! This is something I just watched on a whim during my first year of university and I loved it. It’s weird and wacky and at times a little uncomfortable. But it’s also filled with amazing songs and amusing choreography. It’s definitely a cult classic and if you haven’t seen it before, you definitely need to!

If you have any other favourite musical films that you think I should try, let me know in the comments in the comments. I’m off to sing about running ‘into the woods’!

Leave a Reply

