What To Do In A Reading Slump – Blogvember 2016.

I absolutely love reading. I like to lie to myself and say I don’t have enough time to nowadays, which to an extent is true, but I’m also lazy. And when I find myself getting lazy with reading I usually hit a bit of a slump. No book can hold my attention and it becomes more of a chore to sit down and read. This is something that has happened to me many times before, and I promise it will eventually pass. So I thought I’d give you some of my tips that I find help get me out of a reading slump.

Don’t force it

The absolutely worst thing I find you can do is to force it. There is nothing worse than reading a book you do not enjoy. Anybody who studied English at school who adores books, knows the pain of having to force read a book, especially one you don’t particularly enjoy.

Watch booktubers

I particularly enjoy watching Booktubers who do hauls, because it gets me excited for new books that are coming out. Seeing someone else get super excited about books helps get me excited to read again. However, I always have to fight off the urge to buy new books after watching book hauls, so as much as this is a great way to get out of a reading slump, my bank account does not always agree.

Reevaluate your TBR 

Sometimes seeing the pile of books you’ve got to read is very daunting. I tend to just add more and more books to the ever growing list of things I want to read, which means books that I was once very excited about fall to the end of the list and I forget about them. I suggest throwing away your TBR pile and starting again. I like to start with a completely clean slate and I’ll pick out just a few books that I know I can’t wait to read. That way when I do decide to sit down with a book, I’m not spending hours trying to pick one from a pile thats bigger than me.

Read books reviews

This is very similar to the Booktuber point. I love reading book reviews and finding out what someone else thought of a book I’m thinking of reading. Again, it gets me excited about it and it makes me look forward to picking it up.

 

Read something else

And by this, I literally mean ANYTHING else. A magazine, a newspaper, something online, poetry, even cooking instructions. Just don’t stop reading. Sometimes it doesn’t matter what you’re reading as long as you are in fact reading. I usually turn to magazines because they are quick to read and you can pick them up and put them down throughout the day. I tend to find that if I continue to read, eventually I will pick a book back up, usually because I have nothing else to read.

So those are my tips for getting out of a reading slump and will hopefully help you pick a book back up. If you have any other tips, let me know in the comments down below, I’d love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “What To Do In A Reading Slump – Blogvember 2016.

Leave a Reply

