Favourite Musical Soundtrack.

I absolutely adore a good musical! I’ll sit and happily watch musicals for hours upon hours. There’s something magical about musicals, when everyone comes together to see something amazing and feel something, well thats just amazing. I’m often found listening to the soundtrack to musicals while I’m doing uni work or when I need something to help me relax; I’ll lay in bed and listen to a musical soundtrack. So I’ve listed below some of my all time favourites, they include a mix of movie adaptations as well as stage recordings.

Les Miserables

This is one of my absolute favourite musicals of all time. I’ve tried numerous times to read the book but it’s ridiculously long so I’ve not quite mastered it yet. Set during the French Revolution, we see the story of Jean ValJean and his journey from inmate to mayor to father. We experience love, loss and war all in the space of a few very intense hours. Honestly, I have yet to watch the movie adaptation because I didn’t want to spoil to fond memories I had of seeing it on stage, but I’m more and more intrigued to see it so I’ve definitely put it on my list of films to see before the end of the year. I’ve included my two favourite songs from the album I usually listen to; which is the 25th Anniversary London Cast.

Bonnie & Clyde

This musical obviously tells the story of Bonnie & Clyde. As far as I’m aware, this hasn’t been performed in the UK yet, but I can’t wait until it is! I won’t lie, the main reason I listened to this is because Jeremy Jordan plays Clyde and I absolutely adore him. I really love the sound of the whole soundtrack but I definitely have a few favourites.

Rent

This was probably one of the first movie musicals I really watched and fell in love with. The story is about 8 people who are all, in some way, struggling artists. It teaches us about how having friends and a happy life is more important than having money. I can easily listen to the soundtrack back to front, all of the songs are very easy to hum along to and I often find myself humming them for days after I’ve watched them. I’ve included the actual movie scenes below and I’m sure you’ll recognise some of the faces that pop up.

The Last Five Years

This is another Jeremy Jordan one and I’m not in any way sorry for that. I first heard about this when the movie adaptation was released a few years ago. I went into it knowing absolutely nothing about the story and loved it. I’ll warn you now though, there is almost no speaking it in, yes that means that the entire film is made up almost entirely of songs. I have no problem with that, but I know when I sat down to watch it with my mum she got a little fed up with the constant singing. But if you love musical movies I definitely urge you to watch it.

Wicked

This just had to be on the list didn’t it?! Even if you haven’t seen it, you’ve definitely heard about it! I’ve seen the UK production and it was fantastic. I love everything about it, the story, the set and obviously the music. Even if you’ve not seen it, you’ll probably recognise some of their big hits.

She Loves Me 

This is a new one in my collection. Why has it squirmed into my favourites them? It has Zachary Levi in it. I’m still not 100% sure what the story is, but the music is fantastic none the less. I end up singing them for days after I’ve listened to them because they are very catchy. They also have a song called ‘The Twelve Days Of Christmas’ which obviously helped sell it to me!

Kait Kerrigan & Brian Lowedmilk Live

Okay so this isn’t technically a musical, however it has lots of well known stage actors singing different songs from smaller, low-key musicals. I can easily listen to this album on repeat for days.

Are there any other musicals you absolutely love and think that I should check out, let me know if the comments below.

Featured Image – Odyssey

 

2 thoughts on “Favourite Musical Soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

