My TBR List – September.

I have so so so many books that I need to get to reading! I definitely have what most people would probably call an addiction to buying books. However, this month I have set myself the task of trying to actually get through some of the books that have been on my TBR (To Be Read) pile for far too long.

A Court of Thorns & Roses – Sarah J. Maas
‘Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.’

This is about a huntress called Feyre who, after killing a wolf in the woods, gets a visit from a beast-like creature who demands retribution. She is then taken to a land only spoken of in legends and knows she is in trouble. She lives in this land with a lethal, immortal faerie, one of whom once ruled over her world. I haven’t gotten far enough into this story to really comment on it, but I do really enjoy the writing style. I really like the character of Feyre who is fearless and would do anything to protect her family, having promised her mother before her death. I will be interested to see how the rest of this story plays out, especially because one of the main reasons I bought it was because of the comparisons to the fairy-tale Beauty and the Beast. I look forward to seeing if this is true and, if so, how the friendship between Feyre and the faerie she live with develops.

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
‘I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.’

Okay, so I bought this book because of how it’s written and laid out. It’s written in a series of emails and mission report and I love things like this. Because of how it’s written, when I do pick it up I do get through it fairly quickly, so I think if I sat down one afternoon I would probably finish it very easily. We follow Kady and Ezra, who have recently broken up, just before their planet is invaded. They both board separate ships so communicate through emails. From what I’ve heard there’s also a plague that’s broken out and lots of lies. It also includes hacked documents like schematics, military files, medical reports and interviews. The reason I put it down was because I found it difficult to connect with the characters and I think this is mostly to do with the writing style, but I’m going to try and push through and finish it this month.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through he Looking-Glass – Lewis Carroll
‘”Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where – “
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”‘

We all surely know the story of Alice in Wonderland. I’ve made quite a big effort to try and read more classics because that was the genre I’ve always fallen short with. I started this book about a month ago and for some reason, just decided to put it down and not finish it. I definitely think that this is the sort of book I could easily finish in one sitting so hopefully this will be one of the first ones I finish this month. Plus, how pretty is this edition?

Landline – Rainbow Rowell
‘I love you more than I hate everything else.’

I love Rainbow Rowell. I finished all of her other books within days of starting them because I just couldn’t put them down. I got this book when it first came out and I made it through a few chapters and put it down because it didn’t grab me like her other books had. It’s about a marriage in trouble and follows Georgie’s inner turmoil as she decides not to go on a family Christmas trip and feels like she has finally pushed her marriage past breaking point. Then she finds a way to communicate with Neal in the past, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage. I think this is going to be a hard one for me to finish because I still remember feeling quite disappointed with it when I first picked it up, but I’m hoping it gets better as it gets further into the story because I absolutely love everything that’s come from Rainbow Rowell before.

Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
‘You have to pretend you get an endgame. You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can’t carry on at all.’

I was so excited about this book. I still am. For anyone who has read Rowell’s other book Fan Girl, they will also have been excited. In Fan Girl, we follow the main character and her obsession with a fictional book series called Simon Snow. The book included excerpts of the books as well as excerpts of fan fiction written for the series. And then the amazing announcement came that Rowell was actually going to write a book from the Simon Snow series that had featured in Fan Girl. It’s a book series about magic and ghosts and vampires, it had me hooked from the beginning. Unfortunately, I bought this book around the time I hit my reading slump, so very quickly after picking it up, it was put back down again. But I remember enjoying what I did read, so hopefully this won’t be such a hard one for me to pick up again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

